Send me Your FREE
Health & Nutrition Updates

Tips on ways to live longer, healthier and happier.
Enter your email below.

NewsBites April 2014 Issue

Quinoa OK for Celiac Patients

Quinoa, the ancient grain that’s enjoying renewed popularity, is free of the gluten protein that patients with celiac disease can’t tolerate. But some studies have suggested it nonetheless might not be safe for celiac sufferers. Now a new clinical trial has given celiac patients the all-clear to consume quinoa: British scientists fed 19 volunteers with celiac disease a little less than two ounces of quinoa every day for six weeks. After a battery of tests, including blood, liver and kidney assessments, the researchers found no negative effects, according to findings published in The American Journal of Gastroenterology. A versatile grain, quinoa is a particularly useful ingredient because it provides all the amino acids for a “complete” protein. (Read more in our June 2010 issue.)

More information on these findings can be found at

New to Tufts Health & Nutrition Letter? Register for Free!

Already Registered?
Log In